Trying

When it was my time the doctors told them I wouldn’t make it
They said I wasn’t ready and that’d take my mother with me
I proved them wrong, careful not to break it but when I did
It all happened all so quickly

Two and a half months too early, a kilo, half a quarter
I was barely a person but I made it my life’s mission to become one
Trying to prove myself since birth, prove them I was worth it
To make sure I would become something, that I could really do it

But I never achieved much, not much more than the mundane
But I did it, except with some troubles along the way
But I was quiet, I did what others told me and I did it, I made it all the same
Where the others started better, I made sure that I did it

I wasn’t as fast but I made sure that I kept up
I never understood as well but I pretended that I did
Fake it till you make was my motto, except all I did was fake it
I stayed standing and played the game to save grace

I brushed myself off when I was beaten down and laughed at
I got one because I thought that’s what you do when the time came
Time was wasted, empty tears fell as I tried to understand why
I know now it takes this long, just this long, which is not that long
To understand that being not the same was my greatest accomplishment

Leave a comment